Displeased with Israel’s government

August 28, 2006 at 1:34 am (Arabs, International community, Iran, Islamism, Israel, Middle East, Military, The United Nations, The United States, War)

Christopher Taylor said:

Personally I’m mad Israel didn’t do more.

Indeed. I am still quite displeased, and my displeasure has been increasing with reports that the Israeli government is negotiating with terrorist regimes. I understand their desire to get back their abducted soldiers, but to continue this cycle of “kidnap and negotiate release of prisoners” is unacceptable.

I am usually very supportive of the Israeli government, but I am finding more reasons to oppose it than to support it. I have always been a fan of Likud – even though its prime ministers have not been hawkish enough for my tastes – and I think it is time Kadima were laid to rest.

I believe Kadima was founded by Ariel Sharon for his own political uses. I do not believe an actual centrist coalition exists. What “centrist” coalition may be said to exist is in reality Israelis united behind Ariel Sharon. As soon as Ariel Sharon became incapacitated – and it seems that God will be recalling him soon – Kadima’s raison d’etre expired.

Maybe Hezbollah was surprised by Israel’s reactions. I think being surprised is stupid: Israel knew Hezbollah was going to strike and had prepared beforehand to strike back. For Hezbollah to move into a position to fire first and not to see Israel’s preparations to respond is utterly ridiculous. I don’t buy it. But Hezbollah’s swift acceptance of and, so far, overt adherence to the ceasefire indicates to me that Hezbollah direly needed the attacks to end.

Which would be reeeaaal nice. They started the war when they wanted, and they ended the war when they needed it to end. Neither Lebanon nor The United Nations will disarm Hezbollah: indeed, Hezbollah’s rearmament has begun.

The Arabs will not do the responsible thing and eliminate Hezbollah. The Lebanese authorities are still spineless, Syria and Iran are supporting Hezbollah, and The United Nations doesn’t care either way.

All we can do is prepare for the next round, whenever it begins. It doesn’t help that the threat across the Lebanese border hasn’t gone away while Israel needs to put into place measures to protect itself from Iran. *throws hands in the air* The Second Coming should just come already.

2 Comments

  1. Wickedpinto said,

    I can’t judge Israel’s moderation as long as the UK is moderate, and as long as the US is so moderate, we might as well be teetotalers.

    If the US won’t accomplish the task, how can we judge israel?

  2. Hoodlumman said,

    You can almost see Hizbullah’s next strategy. Bunkers and hardened positions in extreme close proximity to French/Italian/UN troops, as well as civilian centers… just get new ordinance in place and Israel can’t retailiate without killing Western peacekeepers.

    I can see the above scenario happening… and happening sooner rather than later.

Leave a comment