Why Don’t They Care?

April 25, 2009 at 12:30 am (Islamism, Pakistan)

On Sunday, April 19, 2009, my mother, father, and I had a passionate discussion on Pakistan, specifically the signing of the Shariah Nizam-i-Adl Resolution 2009 by President Asif Ali Zardari, before I left for church. My mother said, “When a simple housewife who all she does is cook aloo gosht and do laundry, even she knows that this is a stupid idea, then how could it have been signed?” We tried to explain all the political reasons, but I admit it’s a major case of myopia by Pakistani politicians, if not desperation.

She then asked, “Okay, forget the politicians and army. How come the people aren’t doing anything?”

My father said, “I asked this very question to Mr. XYZ in Karachi. He said it was more than 100 degress at 8 pm. The light was out and had been for a few days. When people have no electricity, no water, and in high temperatures, then, bhaai saahib, these are issues only you discuss, comfortable in America.” In other words, the people have many other things to worry about, more immediate worries.

Problem is that distracted as such, they might be caught unawares when shariah law sweeps through Karachi, or when they look on with amazement as militant, Islamist entities start taking over the Pakistani state. Perhaps this is why they are distracted. But they are distracted. And those who aren’t can’t do anything. Newspaper editorials simply offer more paper with which to wrap roasted peanuts. What will they accomplish?

On Monday, I will reveal what many people say is the real reason for all of Pakistan’s suffering.

1 Comment

  1. Gibby Haynes said,

    This is a pretty good documentary illustrating what Pakistan is going through right now, but from a child’s perspective. Very poignant.

    Cooking Aloo Gosht all day sounds like the kind of lifestyle I could appreciate. Aloo Gosht is awesome. I’ve only made Aloo Gobi and Saag Aloo myself, but I’ve ordered Aloo Gosht many times from the takeaway. It’s more of a side dish, at least at the ones I’ve been to, but it’s great nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

