Religulous Review: Part I of V

October 6, 2008 at 12:30 am (New Atheism, Religion)

A friend of mine wanted to watch Bill Maher’s Religulous. He has been slowly returning to activity in the Church. I tried to persuade him that this might not be a movie he may want to go to, but he said he’s going to see it in any case. So whether I go with him or not, he’s going to watch it. I decided to go with him so that if he has any doubts or questions, I can help him. I did not want him to go alone or without someone who would help set his mind at ease when it comes to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

The movie was interesting.

My friend told me that the movie convinced him about the truthfulness and relevance of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, which is the complete opposite of what Maher wanted to accomplish. He and I were the only ones who did not clap at the end. I was so relieved that the movie did not lead away my friend, who already had his doubts and questions about faith. My friend loves rationality, and I was worried that Rationalism Evangelist Maher would get to him. But it was just the opposite. I thank and praise God and His Holy Spirit, and the power thereof, which not only survive such onslaughts but become stronger.

The fundamental error in Maher’s movie, aside from his political and environmental and religious agendas and biases, is a complete ignorance of what religion is, what rôle it plays, and its intrinsic nature in human society and psyche.

Over the next few days, I will elaborate on these points. I will not speak from the perspective of a “religionist” but rather from the perspective of one who has studied religions for decades and who has an undergraduate degree in religion.

Bottom line: Don’t watch it. It’s dreck.

3 Comments

  1. Bryan said,

    I am 22. And recently i have been on a “Quest” to discover what i really believe. I do believe that Jesus died for our sins and he is the son of God. I have always beleived that. I did not go to church that much when i was a kid but i went on the holidays. I am very glad my parents did not use force or fear to press religion onto me (like so many other less-fortunate kids). Now that i have grown up a little, (i’ve been supporting myself for 4 years now, in the real world) I have been starting to discover that religion is really a weird thing. I have been working really hard to learn about God and religion so i can make up my own mind. I feel like i have done a good job of being unbiased. I have talked/researched both the super religious and the super non religious.

    I don’t agree with your “bottom line” because i think this was one of the most important movies i have ever seen in my life. I do not understand why so many people blindly accept the churches agenda. I think Bill did a good job of asking the basic questions that most people have. “why doesn’t god just defeat the devil? or “Why perfectly reasonable people take the bible literally?”

    What i took from the movie most was that: Why can’t the people who want to practice religion do it in the privacy of their own church, home or group ect. And not get it involved with politics, law makers and schools, protests ect. It is this kind of religious abuse that is going to end us as a civilization and prolong our own mental “growth” to become better more intelligent, peaceful human beings?

    Bottom line: Christians need to get over there own arrogance and watch the movie because its not just the Christian faith that is debated. I think you’ll find that the Christian faith is not the be-all, End-all of religions. If you see this movie maybe you’ll think before the next time you mock someone else’s religion or lack there of. OPEN UP YOUR MIND or is that a sin too?

  2. Blackiswhite, Imperial Agent Provocateur said,

    Thanks for taking the hit for us, M’oon. I lost patience with mean-spirited Billy years ago.

  3. Blackiswhite, Imperial Agent Provocateur said,

    What i took from the movie most was that: Why can’t the people who want to practice religion do it in the privacy of their own church, home or group ect. And not get it involved with politics, law makers and schools, protests ect. It is this kind of religious abuse that is going to end us as a civilization and prolong our own mental “growth” to become better more intelligent, peaceful human beings?

    The problem with the world you envision in this statement is that it never existed. Religion is this country’s raison d’etre. Religion infused the English common law that is the root of our own. It was the bedrock on which the law was built. It is a fairly recent (last 30 years or so) development which introduced a radical misinterpretation of “Separation of Church and State” into the dialogue of civil discourse, and the constant and deliberate denial of religion’s role as the basis for law has allowed the “result creep” that plagues the law today, because only when the bedrock is taken away can we as a nation even consider the “freedoms” that a vocal minority keep trying to foist upon us as both “fair” and “logical”. These assertions are tragic because they deny a proud heritage that allowed this nation to achieve things no other nation could, and because they rob the body politic of the certainty of result that the law previously provided. Things that were unthinkable 20 years ago are openly discussed as is if the proponents are entitled to them, and all protests to the contrary aside, things that are unthinkable today will be treated the same way 20 years hence without a return to sanity and a very real and public recognition that religion was and is the lifeblood of this nation and the soil from which every significant political advance of the last 200 years has sprung.

    For more on the role of religion in the founding and maintenance of this nation:
    http://taxes-stupidity-and-death.blogspot.com/2008/08/and-neck-bones-connected-to-head-bone.html
    http://taxes-stupidity-and-death.blogspot.com/2008/08/weekends-with-muzzy-part-2.html

Leave a Reply

