Great day at Church

August 4, 2008 at 12:30 am (LDS, Personal)

I had an awesome day at Church on Sunday.

Right after I bore my testimony, another guy got up to the podium. His first words? “Brother [Musli], thou art the man!” I blushed bright red.

While I was looking around, I caught my name on a piece of paper. Next to it was “+2” under “taught lesson”. In our branch, we’re having a contest to see who gives the most service. This could be for help rendered or some spiritual service. A grade of 1 (nice), 2 (awesome), or 3 (life-changing) is given. So, someone submitted a note for when I taught a lesson. I’m so touched it touched someone that much.

I teach every Sunday in Church. There are usually two teachers, but one was released (and I replaced her) and the other was also released for another calling, leaving me to do it all alone, every week. But I enjoy it. Some lessons are better than others. Preparation, I have noticed, can help. Usually, I let the Spirit decide. To date, not one lesson has gone as I prepared or planned it. The people in my class is awesome. Lots of smart people. I learn so much from them. But it’s wonderful to bring to them insights or knowledge they may not have encountered, and it’s wonderful to bear to them my testimony every week.

After priesthood meeting, the branch president had wandered into the room and approached me directly. He wanted me to set up a tray of bread and two cups of water in his office for sacrament. A brother came later to church and had missed sacrament. I and the Elders Quorum President blessed and passed it. I was the branch president’s go-to guy!

Nothing gives me greater joy than knowing I can serve in the Kingdom of God, albeit in very little ways, in ways that touches people’s hearts. I regularly get feedback on my lessons, that they helped, and I’m glad I can do that.

Don’t know why I’m posting this. Just some insight into what’s going on in my life.

And the best news…on Sunday, August 17, 2008, an apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ will be visiting our stake. Elder Richard G. Scott will be addressing us. It’s not a stake conference, it’s a special program. It will be so cool!

2 Comments

  1. Blackiswhite, Imperial Agent Provocateur said,

    M’oon,
    I can tell that you are excited about it, and I am glad that you are.

    How could I tell?
    “The people in my class is awesome.”

    Don’t worry. I won’t tell anybody! 😉

  2. sachhay183 said,

    A nice Day

Leave a Reply

