Fear is the mind-killer

July 11, 2008 at 12:11 pm (Personal, Words of wisdom)

I suppose this shows just how big of a dork I am.

While doing the reading for the previous (and first) session of my summer class, “Negotiation and Conflict Management”, an issue that was brought up was fear. People dislike conflict (and thus dealing with it, namely negotiation) because of fear.

What popped up in my mind is what is called the “litany against fear“, from Frank Herbert’s Dune (“The spice must flow!”), which goes like this (courtesy of Wikipedia):

I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.

While fear, and other negative emotions, are legitimate when it comes to conflict and negotiation, we shouldn’t let it control us. Nor should we deny it exists. We should acknowledge it, and then let it pass over us, so that we can see it behind us and so we can move forward.

Else, all that will remain will be the fear, it having obliterated us.

2 Comments

  1. nainaitok said,

    it’s true. fear and our mind are two things that can do the tricks to make us fail. To overcome the fear ? I think we have to face it and not trying to get away from it. Get away doesn’t mean we solve it..but it will cost us more problems..

  2. Chris said,

    Walk through it. It is faster than going around.
    In every possible sense

Leave a Reply

