Random thoughts on diabetes

July 7, 2008 at 12:30 am (Diabetes, Personal)

I recently read something that jolted me:

The average life expectancy of a person with diabetes remains 13 years less than that of a person without diabetes.

Gary Scheiner. Think like a Pancreas. New York: Marlowe & Company, 2004, p. 26.

*sigh*

So far, this seems like a good book. Sobering.

I once bought a book all about complications from diabetes, complete with pictures. Thought it might motivate me to maintain better control.

To this day, I will not even touch the book. I abhor it. The one time I flipped through it, I became immensely depressed. It didn’t motivate me: in fact it de-motivated me.

What usually motivates me are:
1. Eyesight: I love reading and dread losing my eyesight.
2. Comfort: having uncontrolled diabetes is very uncomfortable what with frequent trips to be bathroom, not being able to sleep through the night, constant drinking water and not having the thirst sated.
3. Mission: I have certain things I need to do before dying, and so I need to keep myself healthy and well to survive to do it.

Unfortunately, I often loose sight of the above when the demands of close control overwhelm me. And often it seems like an uphill (if not losing) battle: there’s no way to have perfect control, and some complications will develop even with the best control. The complications may develop later and less intensely, but come they will.

One other thing that has begun to motivate me is President Thomas S. Monson, President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. President Monson has type II diabetes, and he seems so healthy and is so active. So it is possible to live well and contribute much.

Leave a Reply

