How to thank our military men and women

April 25, 2008 at 12:30 am (Military, The United States)

This may be old for The Hostages, but I saw two videos on YouTube that really touched me. Both moved me to tears, and they both had to do with thanking our men and women in uniform.

The first is an ad thanking our military in a way that, just thinking about it, moves me deeply.

Now, the first was an ad. Here’s a real, live example in Ireland, of all places.

In looking through YouTube, I realize this is a common response to our men and women in uniform in our airports.

If I were before you in person, I would not be able to talk. I would be choked up with tears. It really makes me feel so proud that we honor our men and women in uniform in such a stupendous way. It makes me so proud to be an American. Black and white, young and old, rich and poor: we all stand and applaud our living heroes.

Thank you.

By the way, do check out Rosetta’s “The U.S. Army Chorus and the Battle Hymn of the Republic”.

1 Comment

  1. B Smith said,

    1: Wow. Now I will be getting all choked up m’self, in random public places, and awkward times no doubt, thinking of that. And worth every tear I’ll blink back, remembering the ones who didn’t come back to hear the appreciation
    2: As if I needed another good reason to drink beer (commercial was from Anheuser-Busch) instead of overpriced latte (Starbucks refused to send coffee to soldiers who requested it, saying the company ‘didn’t support Bush’s war’) When that choking feeling gets me, I’ll hoist a big frosty mug to our TROOPS.
    3: …with the fine lads ‘n’ lasses of the fair Emerald Isle. Thank you for supporting our finest.

Leave a Reply

