Need some advice: something to keep me busy

January 21, 2008 at 10:45 am (Personal)

I need to do something other than work at the office and stay at home. (I could blog…but I need something that gets me out of home.) Something distracting, useful, and productive. There are therapeutic reasons too: I’m quite frustrated with a number of issues, which only increases the longer I am home. Not good. Plus I need to have my world include elements other than work, home, and blog.

The reason I want to ask for advice is because I need to be very careful. Whereas I would rather find something with my church or another Christian organization, so as to fellowship with other Christians, doing so would involve deceiving and lying to my parents (as they would strongly and vehemently oppose any such involvement with Christians or non-Muslims for that matter). After all they’ve been through with a certain of their children constantly lying and deceiving, I do not want to do the same. Plus, I don’t think God would particularly like the fact I’m lying for His sake. So, nothing religious. (If I started hanging out with Muslims, my father will be concerned I might turn radical; my mother would be concerned I am not hanging out with the right Muslims (the right Muslims being South Asian Hanafi Barelvi secularist Muslims: one of the my cousins got into religion and has become somewhat of a bother, so even the right Muslims may not cut it).)

I joined the Freemasons, but both my parents dislike them (my father because he thinks they’re a waste of time and just want my money; my mother because she thinks they’re a Christian group).

A book club? Diabetes club? Volunteer somewhere (hospital? politician? library?)?

What have you been involved with that you would recommend?

11 Comments

  1. harrison said,

    Easy. Photography.

  2. nicedeb said,

    I know! Ballroom dancing!

  3. nicedeb said,

    I’ve always wanted to take a karate class.

    Orrrr, you could just join a gym.

    Does your town has a YMCA, or a recreational center?

  4. dicentra said,

    If I had time on my hands and the energy to pursue it, I’d go birdwatching.

    But being winter, that’s probably not the most appealing option.

    Go here

    http://www.volunteermatch.org/

    or here

    http://www.onebrick.org/index.asp

    or here

    http://www.chicagovolunteer.net/

    or Google “volunteer opportunities in Chicago” and find a whole mess of links. There’s plenty of need for volunteers anywhere you go, so it’s just a matter of finding something that suits your abilities and disposition.

  5. Mrs. Peel said,

    I was actually going to recommend some sort of exercise-related activity, and I see I’ve been beaten to it. I love swing dancing, but that might upset your mom depending on how conservative she is regarding interaction with the opposite sex. Maybe something more solitary like archery or hiking would be good.

    Or you could take a class at your local community college, in drawing, creative writing, or a foreign language you don’t already know (if any such exist, heh).

  6. nicedeb said,

    Have you ever done geocaching?

    http://www.geocaching.com/faq/

  7. Jason Pettus said,

    As the owner of an arts center, might I humbly suggest a creative activity? Depending on where you are, all kinds of opportunities are available for both formal instruction and social clubs based around a whole variety of artistic activities — from figure drawing to tap dancing, creative writing, calligraphy and printmaking and musical instruments and just about anything else you can think of. This would also be a good way for you to make new Christian friends without your parents feeling that you’ve joined an overt Christian organization. Anyway, my two cents.

  8. Steamboat McGoo said,

    Try Goth-baiting, Muslihoon! Its fun, you can work on your thespian skills and physical coordination , and you get to go out to eat a lot.

    Or…take up target-shooting and reloading. Both are worthy efforts and a lot of fun. I find that target-shooting relieves a lot of stress, too. I used to say, “No one thinks about work after firing 6 rounds from a .44 magnum.”

  9. geoff said,

    I always take classes when I’m at loose ends. Now I’m taking classes when I’m not at loose ends. I sure miss loose ends.

  10. Dex said,

    nicedeb has a good idea with the karate class. maybe your folks would be cool with Silat?

  11. Vmaximus said,

    I second the target shooting, and there are courses that involve running, shooting from cover, etc. If that might be misunderstood, Try sporting clays, or skeet. There is a lot of satisfaction in smoking a flying target.
    On the other hand, I have 2 bird dogs, that require many walks and training. There are sporting dog competitions, and other related things. Would dogs go over well with the parents?

Leave a Reply

