Why Shouldn’t I Volunteer Myself?

September 26, 2007 at 3:11 am (Military, Personal, World War III)

Against my better judgment: said one:

If you think it is so fun getting shot at, why not volunteer yourself?

To which I reply:
If I could, I would, but I can’t: I’m type 1 (insulin dependent) diabetic, which is an automatic disqualifier. I spoke to a few people in the armed services (one of whom wanted to recruit me), and I was consistently told that I would be absolutely unable to serve.

I even applied to work in Iraq as a translator with a contractor with the Defense Department. They turned me down after my physical: they said they could not hire me because I was diabetic.

So. What next?

1 Comment

  1. Wickedpinto said,

    FBI, consultation.

    You can contact the FBI, and if you are limited, you might be used by a consulting firm for translation, unless you have problems with a clearence.

    One of my fathers best friends (NICE guy, so nice he’s a sucker, actually thats why) can speak farsi, and arabic, and something else, I think I mentioned him before, his name is Amir, I think is the spelling, his father was an iranian kurd killed in the early 70’s.

    anyways, Amir, had been in the US since before 1960, a design engineer and architect, and he leapt at an opportunity to get back at the fuckers who hit us on 9/11.

    He couldn’t get a clearence, despite more than 40 years US residency and just under that much time citizenship, frankly I think it was his divorces, and children, making him easily blackmailable, and the fact that he’s a complete sucker when it comes to women, why he couldn’t get a clearence.

    I don’t know what external company he was contacting, but there are a lot of them. Sometimes, the FBI, might forward individuals to reliable contractors. Contact the FBI.

Leave a Reply

