Merry Christmas!

December 25, 2006 at 3:18 am (Personal)

I would like to wish my readers, for whom this may be relevant, a very merry and blessed Christmas.

Words for the season from Isaiah 9:6-7:

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace. Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end […] to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the LORD of hosts will perform this.

3 Comments

  1. Sean M. said,

    Merry Christmas, Muslihoon. And a happy new year, too.

  2. Michael said,

    Merry Christmas, Musli.

    I love Isaiah 9.

    “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light.”

  3. Wickedpinto said,

    Merry Christmas Mus.

    As for those for whom it doesn’t apply, including myself (I’m an atheist) I believe that there is nothing wrong with taking joy in a celebration built on good deeds.

    When it comes to faith, I was reminded of it recently, in the final chapter of the chronicles of narnia there is a passage, said by a worshiper of ashar, to aslan(paraphrased) “I follow ashar, and cannot accept you as my lord” to which aslan responded (even more paraphrased) “you believe that ashar is me and I am ashar, but now look about you. Ashar cannot accept love and joy and kindness as a gift to him, just as I cannot accept cruelty. You have always followed me, though you have never known it”

    Basicaly, it means that it is the deeds of life that mean something, not the words.

    I’m an atheist, but if I’m wrong, I have no problem still feeling that it is important for everyone to share in joy, whether they believe or not, just be a good human.

Leave a Reply

