Coming out

October 11, 2006 at 2:46 pm (Amusement, Christianity, Personal, Religion)

October 11 is National Coming Out Day. That is, a day dedicated to coming out and proclaiming one’s gay-ness.

I might as well follow suit. On October 11, 1998, I was confirmed a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It’s true! I must come out of the closet and admit I’m a Latter-day Saint!

The flaming and condemnation may now begin.

PS. I should note that I reounced Islam in 1995 on my own initiative. (And back then, only one person knew about it, and despite being non-Muslim he didn’t really agree with my decision.) So unlike how some might interpret it (like my mother), those pesky Mormons didn’t lure me away from Islam into Christianity/The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints/their cult. Rather, I quite happily contacted them and later joined them on my own initiative. And I decided to join before they befriended me and incorporated me into their structure. I lured them into my life, if any luring took place!

PPS. This should be the last and only post wherein I discuss my own religious affiliation. Unless there is reasonable demand otherwise. I prefer focusing on Christianity on my blog rather than on denominations or groups, if that makes any sense. I also recognize that not everyone would agree I am a Christian based on my denominational identification; whereas I disagree, I understand why such would be thought.

7 Comments

  1. dicentra said,

    Hey, I’m one of those LDS pukes, too! Only I’m not a convert, I’m a sixth-generation Mormon. So I’ve been thoroughly brainwashed and have stayed in the church because I’m totally incapable of thinking for myself. 😀

    Anyone have questions or objections to the LDS faith, they can take their questions here or here.

  2. Hanuman1960 said,

    I have just one question. If you don’t want to answer it, I will certainly understand and not push the point.

    From the brief reading that I have done of your blog, I had assumed that you are gay.

    How do you acknowledge that fact, and yet still choose to be a member of the Mormon church?

  3. Muslihoon said,

    Woohoo! Brainwashed Mormons unite!

    Shri Hanuman: While your question is a good one indeed, it is not one I will answer in detail here. Suffice it to say that I believe that at times sacrifices have to made for one’s faith. I have made my choices, as difficult and confounding as they may be: rather than follow the desires of my flesh, I have chosen to follow the desires of my spiritual testimony. More than this I dare not say.

  4. Wacky Hermit said,

    Congratulations Muslihoon on your baptism anniversary! I enjoy reading your blog, I find it so informative! Keep up the good work!

  5. spacemonkey said,

    “rather than follow the desires of my flesh, I have chosen to follow the desires of my spiritual testimony.”

    If everyone did that, this would be heaven on earth.

  6. aestiva said,

    Out of the frying pan and into the fire my friend. You have traded one false belief for another. The Mormon doctrines are quite far from christianity. No other christian group acknowledges them as christian. I will congratulate you on leaving Islam, and your desire to moderate your physical urges.

    I pray that Jesus may bless you on your spiritual quests, and may you come to see the PROFOUND doctrinal errors of the LDS.

    -Aestiva

  7. “One of those “Huh - well waddayaknow?” moments” « Think Tankers said,

    […] Speaking of the LDS, Muslihoon “came out” last week as a latter-day saint, in a remarkably short (for him) post.  I mean, the guy could write 200 pages on use of the word “kalb” in Arab literature and make it interesting. But about his metphorical hejira from Mecca to Deseret, he just gives a few sentences. Ah well, I guess there’s a price for maintaining internet anonymity.   […]

Leave a Reply

