Safe and sound; let the madness begin!

August 1, 2006 at 5:45 pm (Islamism, Israel, Pakistan, Personal)

I am safe and sound in Pakistan. The flight was okay: I did a lot of reading. I can’t sleep very well on planes any more. I also don’t like to wear headphones for an extended period of time, so that leaves mainly reading for me to do.

In today’s newspapers, one of the major headlines blared: “Protesters defy weather to denounce Israel”. This is wrong on so many levels. First, I think there’s something seriously wrong with a country’s economy when the masses see fit to brave the elements to denounce Israel – yet again – en masse. Second, this is so routine. Any time Israel does anything, there’s a protest against Israel. I really don’t see the point. Their protest will not change anything. And everyone knows where such people stand without their having to declare their stance. We’ve gotten it by now: Hate Israel, death to America, blah blah blah. By this time, it’s not really news, especially for a multi-column article.

But whom am I kidding? Marching against Israel is part of their enjoyments in life. And it provides employment for sign- and banner-makers.

So, I’ve arrived and the madness has already started. 🙂 One thing’s for sure: Pakistan is never a boring place.

Leave a Reply

