Jon Stewart: Monologue about September 11, 2001

July 8, 2006 at 12:05 am (Amusement)

I know I haven’t been posting much lately, and I apologize for that.

I found a very interesting video on YouTube. I am not a huge fan of Jon Stewart. He is funny, of this there is no doubt, but his strident partisanism tends to grate on me.

Nevertheless, I don’t think any comedian can top Jon Stewart’s monologue of September 20, 2001. During the first broadcast of The Daily Show after September 11, 2001, well, one can say he broke down in front of the cameras. Stewart discussed what makes America so great. He was honest, appropriately somber, and freely sharing his emotions and thoughts. His monologue was unscripted and impromptu. Whatever he may say or do, I will have to admire him for this.

Watch the video. (The entire episode can be found here.) (If anyone knows of any videos online of comedians’ first broadcasts after September 11, 2001, I would very much appreciate being told.) Below is a part I don’t think I will ever forget.

The ellipsis indicate pauses:

The view from my apartment…was the World Trade Center…and now it’s gone. And they attacked it, this symbol of American ingenuity and strength and, and labor and imagination and commerce. And it is gone. But you know what the view is now? The Statue of Liberty….The view from the south of Manhattan is now the Statue of Liberty….You can’t beat that.

Indeed, that could not be beat.

1 Comment

  1. Icepick the Mad said,

    A friend of mine saw the WTC hit and eventual collapse from the roof of her apartment across the way in Jersey. I remember a phone call from her, she was going out of her mind. I lived next door to her parents in Washington state. That was one of the worst days of my life, not knowing the fate of those you care about. Her job was in Manhattan at the time, it was supposed to be her day to go in early that day, but instead she got the day off.

    I second that sentiment, you can’t beat the Statue of Liberty as the view from your apartment window.

    Icepick the Mad!

Leave a Reply

