Something interesting: The XXVIIth Amendment

July 4, 2006 at 11:14 pm (History, The United States, US Government)

On September 25, 1789, Congress transmitted to the state legislatures twelve proposed amendments of which the first two dealt with Congressional representation and Congressional pay. Numbers three through twelve were adopted by the states to become the Bill of Rights in 1791. So, in effect amendment number three of the proposed twelve is our First Amendment. There is normally a seven year time limit (with the possibility of an extension) for an amendment to be approved by three-fourths of the state legislatures (38 states) and to become a part of the Constitution. However, there were no time limitations set for the first twelve proposed amendments. Michigan became the thirty-eighth state to ratify the second proposed amendment that dealt with Congressional raises on May 7, 1992. Thus, two hundred and three years after it was introduced, the proposal placing restrictions on congressional pay raises became our twenty-seventh amendment and most immediate change to the Constitution.

The U.S. Constitution: And Fascinating Facts About It. Naperville, IL: Oak Hill Publishing Company, 2005, p. 45; also “Other Amendments” at ConstitutionFacts.com.

Comments

  1. Muslihoon » We the People…/When in the Course of human Events… said,

    […] Because I have to carry some stuff with me everywhere I go, I have a messenger-bag-like bag I carry with me. A man-bag or whatever. (At least I have a good excuse.) In it I carry one item I cherish dearly: it’s a booklet entitled The U.S. Constitution: And Fascinating Facts About It (which I quoted in this post). In addition to various historical, biographical, and legal trivia, it contains the entire text of the Constitution (with all amendments), the Declaration of Independence, and the Articles of Confederation. I never get bored reading it: each time I take it out, I learn something new. I just wish they also had a list of presidents with pertinent information (time served, party affiliation, maybe a line about what each is best known for). […]

Leave a Reply

