A fantastic country song: “Boondocks”

July 2, 2006 at 12:26 am (Amusement, Country music, Music)

I’ve begun listening to country music lately, and I heard a song that is simply amazing, in my opinion. It’s called “Boondocks” by Little Big Town (official website, Wikipedia page, MySpace page).

A somewhat fuzzy version of their video and song can be seen on this YouTube page.

A clear version of their video and song can be seen on this MySpace page.

Little Big Town‘s songs “Good As Gone,” “Bones,” “Bring It On Home,” and “Boondocks” can be heard on their MySpace page.

You can hear excerpts of their songs on their main webpage.

Two major reasons I like this song are:
1. I love the music and the beat. Very moving, very pleasant. Moves along well.
2. I love the simple pride in where one comes from as expressed in this song. Too often people feel constrained to be ashamed of where they come from. I’ve noticed this is a trend in country music in general: celebrating where one comes from. I think this is great.

4 Comments

  1. Christopher Taylor said,

    As long as it has nothing to do with the lame comic strip.

  2. Muslihoon said,

    Oy, I can’t stand that comic strip. Now they’re on TV, it seems. Good thing I don’t watch TV.

  3. guypaul ready said,

    Heard the song a while back but was’nt really paying a lot of attention, until my daughter
    had the song runnin hard through the car speakers off her Ipod. Then It hit me like a slap shot to the forhead . Started learning it that night and was out playin that gem that night in a saloon in Florida. Had to make up my own beginning since I’m a single performer, but I just flat out love it and so does my people I play it for.
    guypaul ready

  4. guypaul ready said,

    Heard the song a while back but was’nt really paying a lot of attention, until my daughter
    had the song runnin hard through the car speakers off her Ipod. Then It hit me like a slap shot to the forhead . Started learning it that day and was out playin that gem that night in a saloon in Florida. Had to make up my own beginning since I’m a single performer, but I just flat out love it and so does the people I play it for.
    guypaul ready

Leave a Reply

